music

Alessia Cara’s new ‘Introverts Anthem’ ‘Here’

I spent my evening yesterday watching TedxTeen talks (if you haven’t watched them, here’s the link) and stumbled upon this beauty-Alessia Cara. Alessia Cara is an 18 year old singer from Canada and OH MY MY MY her voice is fabulous. She quirkily starts off her performance on Ted saying ‘This song is called here, and it is about a party that I hated’ and goes on to spurt out lyrical genius.

The first thing I did when I heard it was message a friend about how Cara’s lyrics encapsulate why parties aren’t really my scene, which explains why some are calling it an ‘introverts anthem’ and to an extent it kind of is. At the same time ‘Here’ is simply a song that wonderfully captures the awkwardness of being in situations where you don’t feel comfortable, without sounding all doom and gloom. Cara describes it: “It’s a party song, but really it’s the complete opposite of a party song. It’s absolutely me; it shouts out the person in the corner of the party, looking around uncomfortably. I feel like this song narrates what the wallflower is thinking.”

The lyrics are absolutely BOSS with lines such as

‘honestly, I’d rather be somewhere with my people where we can kick it and just listen to some music with the message like we usually do’

This song is gold with the music video adding to it as a great visual representation of all the awkward, wallflower behaviour when you’re at a party that you really don’t want to be in.

So my message to Alessia is: You go glen coco! I am now a big fan and wish you all the best, keep being amazing!

and my message to you is CHECK OUT THE MUSIC VIDEO,share this post (sharing is caring) and let me know what you think.

Comment below or tweet @Voiceofthemav:

Here is the lyric video too because I love you so much

Itunu 🙂

@iTunu_Speaks

Leave a Reply

