identity

The myth of the ‘perfect’ Christian

Right *breathe*.

There’s always a weird feeling when talking about being a Christian, because you know that once you start talking people immediately have a perception of you. You’re a holier than thou, judgemental, boring, no sex before marriage, bible basher. I have never really been ashamed of my faith, but I have and do feel the weight of firstly trying to dispel the misconceptions and stereotypes around being a Christian, and secondly trying to remain Christ like in the process.

I had a phase when I was about 14 where I was very much ‘my name is Itunu and I am a Christian’. I was very proud of my faith, and great  at pretending that feeling and being different from my friends didn’t bother me. I didn’t want to get involved in things that were against my faith but I fell into a trap; the trap being that I masked my insecurities about having different beliefs to those around me as ‘I’m a Christian therefore I am better than you’. Doing this isolated me even more from people. I had friends but felt far too different to build proper relationships with them, which is pretty useless when your whole faith is about spreading love.

You know in movies there is always that one ‘alternative’ kid whose personality revolves around the fact that they are different from everyone else. Initially they seem mysterious and untouchable but as time goes on they come across as pretentious; like under all the’ ‘fake deep’, ‘I listen to music that doesn’t perpetuate the message of a capitalist society’ we all know that they have Justin Bieber’s album on their phone.

I think that being a Christian teenager is quite similar. Sometimes you play into expectations or images of what it means to be a real Christian and feel like a big fraud in the process.

There’s nothing wrong with being alternative and listening to Bieber, just like there is nothing wrong with being a Christian and making mistakes.

There is no Ned Flanders perfect Christian. There isn’t. Christians get sad, insecure, angry- the whole lot, why, because we are human beings.

I don’t know tons of scriptures, I don’t always get things right, sometimes I question my beliefs and I’m not perfect. My Christian walk, however, is so important to me and I am striving to become even stronger in my faith, all the while providing an authentic voice and perspective through my journey.

So I would love to share this journey with you and encourage you to share yours.
Note: ‘Pressure’ by Jonathan McReynolds inspired me to write this, the lyrics encapsulate the pressure you can feel as a Christian. Check it out 🙂

Keep Smiling!

Itunu 🙂

@Voiceofthemav

@iTunu_Speaks

4 thoughts on “The myth of the ‘perfect’ Christian

  1. There’s a lot of pressure in the voicing of our own faith. In some countries, faith may be spoken of without shame of pressure by teens. Unfortunately, in my country teenagers asserting their faith is not so common, sometimes even poorly viewed. So, that’s why it’s dauntless to be as open about it as you are.

    Plus, I agree with you, there’s no ‘perfect’ Christian.
    Beautiful song by the way, thanks for sharing with us!

    Giulia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I have never really thought about it like that. Everyone should have the right to be proud of their faith but I would love to hear about the experiences of Christian teens in your country. I’m glad you enjoyed the post Giulia and thank you for your comment.
      Itunu x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Inspiring blog Itunu. Thank you for being real. Romans 1:16 “I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Jesus Christ for it is the power of God to salvation”. The Christian walk is a process. Keep walking.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

