ChangingtheWORLD

BEST QUOTE EVER

NOTE: Following on from my last post  here is a quote that has inspired me and I would love to use it to inspire my generation.

This is my favourite quote of all time and I would love to use this quote to change the world.

The main part of the quote that has been my driving force for life is ‘as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same’. The whole sentiment behind this BLEW MY MIND, because it was saying that when we show our talents we are giving people the confidence to do the same, we are saying that it is OK for people to be open about their gifts.

EXAMPLE TIME:

We have all been in that situation when a teacher asks a question and everyone lowkey knows the answer but no-one puts their hand up. There is awkwardness in the room and everyone is just waiting for that person who will be brave enough to raise their hand (can I just note that by this point the silence has been so long that everyone starts doubting their answer).

It is not until someone takes a leap of faith and raises their hand that other people start to do the same. Eventually you see that not only are people raising their hands, but they’re helping one another, adding extra bits of information-collectively using their separate knowledge to give a well-rounded answer.

Perhaps I’m really strange but this is one of my favourite moments in a classroom. Seeing that one person ‘let their light shine’ and other people realising that they have the ‘permission to do the same’ is such a beautiful thing.

Elizabeth Gilbert, author of ‘Eat, Pray, Love’, said in an interview how she was that annoying kid who always wanted to read out in class and have a role in the school play- the whole idea of being shy was quite alien to her. This is something that I completely related to, I am in my element on a stage or when I am writing or speaking. I love talking to people. I love people. I love sharing ideas and hearing opinions. I love GETTING INVOLVED.

It wasn’t until I got to secondary school that I realised that my super corny, bubbly self was not always appreciated because there is an unwritten rule that you should never be the first one. You should never be the first one to speak, raise your hand or volunteer because you don’t want to come across as too confident, too intelligent or too enthusiastic because everyone knows that there is absolutely nothing right with being a confident, intelligent, and enthusiastic teenager, right? WRONG.

Absolutely wrong. If I could completely stomp on this whole silly idea I would. Urgh. Just no.

That is why I love this quote because it says ‘there is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine as Children do’.

If Martin Luther King was like ‘ah no I won’t act against racism because they are going to think I’m being too bold’ or Oprah was all ‘ah no I won’t start a talk show because you know I’m extremely gifted and it would be unfair on everyone else’ just imagine how different society and the world of media would be.

You’re BOSS and you have something amazing to offer the world, so stop standing in your own way- because you might be the very person that inspires someone else to chase their dreams.

And if you just questioned yourself let me tell you: if you are a singer and you sing in a talent competition another person will be encouraged to do the same, if you aspire to go off after school and pursue a degree or career and succeed in doing that, that will encourage someone else to do well in school.

People may never say thank you to you, but you have helped someone on their journey to being the truest, purest form of themselves which is one of the most beautiful gifts you can give to a person.

 

Keep Smiling

Itunu x

P.S. What quote or life lesson has had a great impact on you that you would love to share check out my last post to see how you can get involved with the ‘Changing the WORLD’ project 🙂

Tweet:

@Voiceofthemav

This is from one of my favourite movies ‘Akeelah and the Bee’

4 thoughts on “BEST QUOTE EVER

Leave a Reply

